breaking free from six decades of tyranny

We are on a working vacation. So it’s not really a vacation. I’m away from my routine, my Vitamix, my Crossfit gym, and many of my go to foods. And currently watching slender Giada on the Today Show making sorbets and ice cream treats. Does she REALLY eat what she cooks? Unbelievable!

Last night after a day of running, walking, packing, cleaning and eating reasonably, we went to dinner. Here in California, every item on the menu lists its calories. So I chose well and had a great Paleo meal. But, hungry and tired, I gave into bread and wine.

Now that’s not a grave sin. But My Bratty Taste Buds are gloating a little. It feels like they won a little tug of war and I don’t like giving them even that at this point on my journey. If I had gone into the restaurant with a PLAN to have bread and wine, I’d be OK. But they snuck one in on me.

So I’m dealing with some guilt over this.

Comments on: "Balancing the Guilt Factor" (3)

  1. I have started a weight loss journey myself and my friends who have lost the weight and kept it off, have told me that it’s ok to indulge once in awhile as long as you do it in moderation, and you don’t do it often. I can also attest to this, and I have lost over 10 lbs so far. 🙂 I am sure you’re doing great!

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I’ve had a lifelong battle with “triggered” eating: eating one thing off my plan can trigger a slide. My body feels so much better not eating dairy and eating minimal bread, but the old taste buds get in the way at times and demand that which my body doesn’t need. I’m getting close to my goal; it’s nice to hear of your success!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

