breaking free from six decades of tyranny

Paleo Banana Pancakes

My daughter gave me this recipe and I’m not sure where she got it. It’s very similar to Mark Sisson’s Almond Banana Pancakes but with a few more ingredients and different proportions.

Here’s what I LOVE about these. Growing up, a very special treat for us was my Tennessee-born grandmother’s Buckwheat Pancakes. Or the recipe could have come from my Oklahoma-raised grandfather’s side of the family. No matter.

These pancakes required a starter, were yeast-based, and were weird little tangy, almost crepe-like pancakes. My gentle mother could be driven to distraction trying to cook the Sunday morning treats. They would always stick to the cooking pan, and come to our plates like shrunken, shriveled, blackened bits of heaven.

The magic really happened when butter melted in pools on them and sorghum syrup was drizzled atop the stack. Wowza.

And these Paleo Banana Pancakes have a look and taste reminiscent of my beloved buckwheat pancakes. And while they may look a little dark, they do not taste burned. I have tried them with sorghum and maple syrup. MyBrattyTasteBuds are leaning toward maple syrup.

Paleo Banana Pancakes

Paleo Banana Pancakes

Paleo Banana Pancakes

3 ripe bananas
3 T. ground flax seeds
1/4 c. almond butter
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
dash cinnamon

Mash the banana. Stir in other ingredients. Drop by quarter-cups onto hot griddle. Cook until bubbles form and pop, then turn. Be sure to cook through, about 1 minute per side. Don’t worry if they cook up a bit dark. They will taste fine!

Comments on: "Paleo Banana Pancakes" (3)

  1. Bill Mosby said:

    I found the secret to making buckwheat cakes nonstick: a pat of butter in the pan before each two or three batches of 3 or 4 cakes, and keep the temperature up to where each batter pour gives a good amount of “sizzle”. Since we always slathered each cake in a stack with butter (well, I did, anyway), it didn’t really add any more fat. I remember discovering this early on, but don’t remember if I clued Mom in on it, or if she was just trying to keep the fat level down.

    • I know you are really good at the cooking part, brother! Didn’t mom use a cast iron skillet?

      • Bill Mosby said:

        It was cast aluminum. I remember it well, it still had the scars on it that resulted from the cleanup necessitated by my trying to make sweetened chocolate out of Baker’s by putting sugar and chocolate in the pan, turning the heat up to high, and then forgetting about it until smoke came billowing out of the kitchen. That was in Bellaire when I was about 6 years old.
        I’ve used cast iron, and also various non-stick pans. Nothing works unless you use butter!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

